h1

Peacocks, cocks and dragons

June 23, 2008

Saturday started off with me cracking my eyes open at 5:30 from my not so comfy resting place on the floor of my in-laws family room.  Due to our need to be up and at-em so early Kelly, our good friend Jen and I opted to go over Friday night to Kels parents so that we could all leave from one place.  I wasn’t able to sleep, so I stayed up in front of the idiot box on the love seat.  When I finally was dreary eyed I went to the bedroom to find Kels passed out soundly, but laying diagonally on the bed.  She was joined with the big cat Jaggers, so I didn’t feel that I should disturb them by crawling in, waking them and demanding that they roll over.  I returned to the love seat.

The love seat just wasn’t enough space for me to curl up on with of course ensuring that Ipo was comfortable as well.  I woke up at about 3 am and just rolled off and nestled into the carpet.  Not exactly a restful sleep!

We all got ourselves mustered together, loaded the cars when our 5th companion arrived and we hit the road for Mitchell around 6:45, heading directly for Tim Horton’s to get our veins pumped with java juice.

We arrived on time at Mitchell and even got good parking spots right near where our team would be setting up for the races.  Dragonboat races!  WOOT WOOT!  It’s such an awesome sport, and this team is great because it’s all about the sport and being together, rather than just the races and winning them.  The team has a wide range of ages too which is awesome.  Needless to say, the young and feisty little 19 year olds kicked our asses, but hey we had more fun!

So todays entry is full of pictures.  For those of you who don’t have a clue what dragon boating is, it’s a sport and Chinese tradition that goes back over 2,400 years.  You have 20 paddlers, one drummer and a steerer all in a very low and narrow boat that is adorned with a dragon head at the front and tail at the rear.  (makes sense, eh?)  The drummer sits at the front of the boat and is considered the heartbeat of the crew; he/she sets the pace and tempo for the paddlers.  The steerer stands in the back and works with the drummer in calling the pace, and directs the boat, making best use of the winds to speed up the pace.  It’s awesome to watch!

Alas, right now I only watch.  Once I’m able to work we’ll be able to afford the costs for me to be a part of the team, but for now I am the geeky and weird, not to mention loud, supporter.  I do have an official job now which is the holder of the mallet.  Heh, heh, ok so it’s a made up title, but I do hang on to the thing until the heats start and I pass it off to the drummer.  Saturday that title was almost stripped from me, as I didn’t get my ass back to the docking area when our team was up to race.  I was still sitting over in the beer gardens and lost track of time.  BAD SHIPPIE!!  Kel, who was drumming that race, had to resort to using a big stick instead of the mallet.  Sigh.  We lost that heat too, so I guess it was my fault??

Anyhoo.  There is a little zoo in this park that we raced at, and I got a few pic’s I thought I’d share.  I even got to pet a cock!  And feed a baby reindeer!!  So here are the photos for today:


Yep, that’s me with three layers of clothes looking fat. (it was rainy and freezing in the morning)  But isn’t that little baby reindeer just the cutest!!  I so wanted to take him home with me!!

And here on the left is an amazing peacock on his perch.  I tried to go back and find him walking about to see if he’d spread his wings, but he stayed up on the perch all day.  And DAYUM!!  Those little guys are LOUD!!  Holy mother!  I need one of those as my alarm clock.  I’d never over sleep again!

And over here to the right is my friend Mr. Cocko.  Aren’t the colours of his feathers amazing?  He is just too dang cute!  He looks so studdly, as if he’s asking me to next time gain permission from him prior to shooting off a picture.

Here is the back side of Mr. Peacock who stayed on his perch all day.  The lighting wasn’t the greatest, but you do get a general idea of the amazing feathers he has.

And if you’ve never seen a peacock before and think that’s impressive, wait ’til you get a load of THIS pretty gal!  (Ok, I assume it’s a girl, just because she’s so purty!)

YES!!  A WHITE peacock!!  Stunning!!  I didn’t even know there was such a thing as white peacocks, but there she was!  She liked to pose I think.  I think she secretly wishes she was on the front cover of Cosmopeacock.

This next picture is just a tree.  Well, not just a tree, an amazing tree!  The photo doesn’t really do it justice, but it branches out in so many wild directions.  I stumbled upon this after trudging through tall grasses in my attempt to find another good place to take pictures of the races.  I could see myself hanging out on this tree for hours just watching my surroundings and writing in my journal.

And now on to a few of the race pictures.  I only had my little point and shoot as my good equipment is too expensive to use right now.  I’m old school and still prefer to use a manual camera rather than a digital.  But with film prices the way they are right now, that little hobby has to take a back seat for a spell.  Unfortunately my camera’s batteries kept dieing on me, so I wasn’t able to get many shots, but here’s a few so you get the idea.


Kels was the drummer in this heat and you can almost make her out at the front of the boat with the white cap and blue life vest.  They’d just finished a heat and were preparing to dock when this was taken.

Here’s a shot of the team just as they were nearing the finish line which was past the water fountain.  That water fountain is installed and hooked up every year just for this race.  The reason you don’t see another boat in the picture is sadly we got our butts kicked in this heat and came in a good 8 seconds behind the other team.  But hey, it makes for a nice picture anyway!


Here’s a closer shot as two teams finished one heat.  Most people are gasping for air and so happy it’s done if only for the moment!

So that’s it for pictures, and gives you an idea of my Saturday.  While I didn’t race, I was beat by the time we got home around 5 PM.  Being in the hot sun, not having much sleep, and the driving got me a tad bushed.  It was an exciting day and while our team came in 10th place, we had a blast and everyone was in great spirits.  I looked like a red lobster when we got home.  Quite the sunburn I had on my face and shoulders.  EEKS.  I wasn’t paying attention was I?

Oh.  One last thing that I have to bring up.  This place DID have a bath house that had a women’s restroom with two stalls.  Due to the amount of people present, they also brought in I think 30 Port-a-potty’s.  Now, I just have to say that I am by no means a super knowledgeable person when it comes to these portable toilet coffins.  However.  WHEN did they start putting mirrors in them?!  Cripes!  I scared the crap out of myself (sorry) when I stood up to pull up my pants and there on the door two inches from my face is a bloody mirror!!  WHY do I need to see myself when I’m pulling up my pants and tucking in my shirt??  I am not that vain!  I mean really now, if I was that vain, would I be using a portable toilet?

6 comments

  1. Well, as for the white bird, I hate to tell ya, but it’s a peaCOCK, hence, it’s a male! The male of the species (any species) usually is much more spectacular than the female.

    I did do one song on The Sims, you can go to
    http://thesimsonstage.ea.com/playPerformance.html?performanceId=zJlW%2BxWF0G4%3D&play=Y
    to hear it.

    They have a real problem with a big lag, and my mic sucks!


  2. why, port-a-potties are such joyful fun for the whole family!!! hahaha!! great pics of the races and stuff!!!


  3. Mirrors in port-a-potty? Yeesh. I guess in principle it’s okay since you wanna be sure you’re tucked in and pulled out in all the right places. Still…

    As for the dragonboat races, those look like FUN! I’d love to see them up close and personal 🙂


  4. Wow, such great photos! I would have loved to have been at the races with you. Then you and I could have been TWO geeky, loud supporters. Heh. And that white peacock is really amazing. So gorgeous!


  5. Great pictures. Sounds like you had a terrific time, once you got up off the floor!


  6. I’m BaaaAaAck!! I tagged you for a Meme over at my joint. Just shut up and do it, already!! And only you could get away with having ‘cock’ in the title of you post. Jeeze…..what were you thinking?!?!



Leave a Reply

