h1

Doggy Camping

July 22, 2008

Oh Lawdy….this is yet another catch up post!  I’m like, so behind in my posting, ya know?  For sure!  (Gag me with the valley talk and friendship pins)

So let’s see.  Last I wrote I said I was going camping for the weekend.  That was accomplished and we had SUCH a great time!  Only one wicked thunderstorm that came through and that only last about 2 hours or so.  The first night really kind of bit since the air mattress I was using had a leak in it.  There is nothing worse than sleeping on a barely inflated air mattress that you are sharing with a dog who hogs the sleeping area.  You are better off getting up, grabbing the damn mattress and tossing the darn thing into the fire.  Just sleep on the good old ground.  I didn’t do this of course because I was too damn tired and kept thinking it would soon get better.  Yeah, right.

Place we stayed at was off of Lake Huron, so Cleo got to go rock fishing.  That dog would live in the water if she could find a way to do it!  Throw a rock into the water, and she’ll go fetch it and bring it back to you.  Well, she’ll bring “a” rock to you anyway.  And one has to be careful with her around a campfire site too, as she has a habit of stealing all the sticks of wood and hiding them on you after she chows on them for a bit.

We also did the lovely tourist deal and drove into Bayfield and Grand Bend.  Lots of great antique shops that if I had a whack load of money I would without a doubt keep them in business for a long time.

We grabbed a bite to eat at a place that had an outdoor patio for the dogs to hang out with us.  The dogs were SO bagged from all the fresh air and running around, and poor Ipo was completely toast.  I wish so badly I had the camera running when she passed out.  She was sitting on Kelly’s lap and trying so hard to keep her eyes open.  Finally, the eyes closed and her head started to bop a bit….and then WHAM!  She LITERALLY fell over sideways!!!  It was SO damn funny!!  Thank goodness Kels was quick to catch her.  Then, she got her composure, repeated the whole thing except this time she fell forward and her chin landed flat onto the table!!  Omg, I was laughing so damn hard!  I was like, Ipo lay down already and just sleep!!

Trying so hard to stay awake!

Trying so hard to stay awake!

Here are some other shots from the camping weekend:

Basking on the beach, hoping for the sun to return!

Basking on the beach, hoping for the sun to return!

I need a break from all this squirrel chasing!

I need a break from all this squirrel chasing!

When do we get to make shmores??

Can I add a log to the fire? I'm cold!

Ok, so I have some funny videos too, but I need to play with them for a bit before posting them.  And, for today that is it for this post!  I’ll have to get some pics ready for the next post about our last minute vacation we ended up taking last Monday night!  Woo hoo!  What a blast that was too!

Now I need to focus on all the laundry.  Yuck.  Someone else please do it for me and I will gladly fold it, iron it and put it all away!!!

4 comments

  1. Aww, the doggie pics are so cute! Glad to hear you guys had a good time camping. It sounds heavenly to me.


  2. OK, I’ll do your laundry, if you promise to fold it!! WOOOO! That’s a deal!

    That photo of Ipo falling asleep is absolutely precious. So glad you managed to snap a shot of her!!


  3. Funny picture of the little canine girl and her new pal! YAY! Hope you had a great birthday!


  4. that is toooo funny— the pic of Ipo. I hope you’re using that as a desktop wallpaper! glad you had a nice camping trip. Ben and I want to go soon, too but I think it’s gonna have to wait till next year.



Leave a Reply

