h1

Hail, sweat and beers

August 3, 2008

The last 24 hours have been a trip.

Last night Kels and I were at her cousin’s house and watched one of the most amazing thunderstorms I’ve seen in a long time from the garage while we exercised our bad habits of smoking. After some great conversation, and embarrassment playing on the Wii Fit, we finally decided it was safe to venture home around 2:30 in the morning. We had to peel poor Ipo from behind the workbench where she had taken refuge in lieu of her preferred behind the toilet hideout, and went out into the rain.

We made it a few blocks only to have the skies bust open again, giving us a deluge of rain, hail, and nasty winds that had poor Kel’s fingers white around the steering wheel. I LOVE a good thunderstorm, but this one had even me a bit worried and afraid that we would run into trouble. We arrived safe and sound, the car appeared to not have any major hail dents, and Ipo was able to rush behind the toilet to try and calm down.

This morning we received a phone call from the in-laws asking for some help removing the debris from a tree that fell down in the storm. I thought it sounded like an hour long job, and was quite shocked when I got there!

One of their backyard trees that was about 60 feet tall had uprooted and fallen over their side fence, spilling 3/4 of the way up the neighbors back yard. It was AMAZING. Part of the tree was wrapped around a bunch of power lines and pulled them down to the height of the 3 foot fence. It was evaluated and determined to be cable and phone lines, and nothing was cut, so the chainsaw fiasco continued, in hopes of freeing these lines from the tree.

This particular tree ‘branch’ was about 9 feet long, and believe it or not these damn cables had grown into the tree over the years. Or rather, the tree grew around the cables?? Anyway. As the chainsawing was happening, Jpop noticed the cables were starting to move UP. Something told him to tell everyone something didn’t look right and to get the heck out of the way and off the ladder. Sure enough with the last cut of one of the branches, that 9′ piece broke loose from the tree and the cables literally catapulted that chunk of the wood straight up into the air about 20 feet! And if that wasn’t bad enough, because the cables were in a sense stuck in the wood, that hunk of SPUN around and boinged and bounced. It was amazing! That thing flew in the air as if it was a toothpick being shut out of a slingshot.

So a few of the neighbors were helping drag everything from the backyard to the driveway after it was cut up, and their 60 foot driveway was covered with tree branches and wood. The pile on the driveway was about 6 feet high the whole way down too, so it was boomer of a tree! We got a big trailer and managed to get it all loaded and hauled to the dump in about 7 trips and were done by 4 PM. Pretty darn good work crew we had I tell ya! Thank goodness the dump was only about 7 kilometers away so that sped things up quite a bit. We’ve still got about 6 feet of the main trunk to cut up, as well as the root core, but we’re leaving that for another day. We were spent.

Kels and Smam cooked a huge bbq spread of food and salads and we all chowed down afterwards. Turned out to be a very enjoyable day actually, even with the hard work. Nobody got hurt. No house damage. And I didn’t even slip and do something stupid with the chainsaw! Yay me! Ha!

I’m sure I will be rather sore tomorrow. The beers I drank may have given my body a false sense of “feeling just fine” so when that is no longer in my system……I’m prepared to say owie owie owie! Good thing I found the name and number for a place that does massages for 25 bucks an hour. SCORE!!

4 comments

  1. Dang – that reminds me. I am WAY the heck overdue for a massage. When the child pays me back, I may go find somebody to pummel the kinks out of my back.


  2. Awwww. I can just see poor Ipo hiding behind the toilet during a storm! How cute!


  3. Oh Ipo! Not the toilet! That is a bed, bad place during thunderstorms! Hide in a closet. Have mommy put a blanket in the dark closet away from the water pipes. It’s much safer and cozier. I would do that except my closets are too full, so I just sit in a chair away from the windows.


  4. I’m still giggling over YOU running the chainsaw!! I guess maybe your in-laws don’t know you too well yet… hahahaha.

    I hope you’re not too sore today!! Go get yourself a massage, girl!



Leave a Reply

