h1

The origin of stink

August 6, 2008

I’m having a debate with the wonderful bluesleepy about leather sandals making your feet stink on gmail chat. As we were chatting I noticed a stench that was really bothering me. It smells like….stinky feet! Being that Kel’s is tucked away in bed with both of the critters, it can only mean that they are MY feet that are creating the lovely aroma. Ugh. So I mention to her that my feet stink, and conclude it must be due to the fact that I was wearing my leather sandals tonight, and she gets all confused! Hello?? Leather shoes make your feet STINK!

Well. SHE doesn’t seem to think that is case, as her leather Birkenstock’s don’t make HER feet stink. I of course countered with the accusation that she was inferring that she just has angelic non-stinky feet. She wouldn’t have any of that noise and told me that no no no, her feet only stink if she wears her cheapie Birk’s. Ok then. Well, these darn leather sandal’s I was wearing were $180 bucks, so cheapness or not I guess I just have stinky feet. Sigh.

So we hit a standstill. Do all leather sandals make your feet stink? Do only certain types of sandals make your feet stink? Do pregnant women have something special in their bloodstream that prevents the stinkiness once the feet start to sweat in leather sandals? Do only lesbians have stinky feet when wearing leather sandals, or do lesbians just have stinky feet, period?

I’m really not liking the smell of things around me any longer. I need to go wash my feet. Guess we’ll never get to the bottom of this!

9 comments

  1. Well. Let me amend my argument. My cheapie Birks DO make my feet stink, and I can recall being on a plane to DC to see my parents when I was pregnant, and I HAD to take my shoes off. Yet I couldn’t help but notice the nasty stench wafting up from my feet. Ew.

    I haven’t had that problem with my more expensive Birks, or with this pregnancy. Then again, I tried my damnedest not to wear shoes period. I only wear them when I’m not in the house. My feet, they don’t like shoes!


  2. Any time leather touches your skin for any period of time, it creates a definite odor. That even applies to a watch band. When I’ve worn my watch for a while, it STINKS.


  3. Hmm… I am glad bluesleepy does not have stinky feet because her father certainly does!!! I think stinky feet for women, have more to do with hormonal fluctuations in addition to dietary habits than anything. I may be completely wrong, but that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it! Besides, I’m not a doctor and I don’t play one on tv. 😉


  4. I know my leather boots make my feet kind of stinky when I wear them all day… so it must be the leather!


  5. leather sandals making your feet stink on gmail chat. there in lies your problem!! see, you was on gmail chat, and your feets started stinking!! so, the solution, dont wear leather sandals whilst on gmail chat, see?? heheheee!!! now go wash yer feets!! and, use soap!!


  6. I never had stinky feet until we moved to Arkansas. I thought it had something to do with the humidity and everything ROTS down here! I’m okay with my sandals, but my sneakers are to die for…..literally….


  7. password: mw1208


  8. I don’t have stinky feet but I did notice when I was on a rx that it made my feet sweat more and they were stinky. So maybe it has to do with your hormones or body chemistry. AS long as you don’t have smell-e-mail, I think you are safe.


  9. Usually, cheap materials make your feet sweat – and thus stink. Fortunately, my feet don’t stink. Try using cornstarch between your toes. If it doesn’t stop the stinking, at least your sweat will turn into a nice gelatinous mass.



Leave a Reply

