h1

Last Day to Vote!

September 14, 2008

For those of you who don’t know about it, or those of you who may be still undecided, voting for the Pet Look alike contest is open for just one more day!  Click HERE if you want to review the entries or vote!

The contest is shaping up.  Everyone has gotten at least one vote, which is nice.  I have to admit, I was feeling a little dismayed when still up until last night I had zero votes!  But alas, a couple people felt sorry for me I suppose, as I really don’t look anything like Ipo on that pic.  I’m not going to tell ya who’s in the lead….but get out there and vote if you haven’t already!!

In other news, I did not end up going to the dragon boat races yesterday.  I haven’t been feeling well the last week or so, and the idea of physically challenging my body was not something I was in a position to do.  The idea of sitting there in a lawn chair all day as a supporter was considered until we realized it was probably going to rain all day.  I can’t really sit for long periods of time right now, so I would have been miserable.  I stayed home and got to sleep in, while Kel was up at 5 AM to get to Stratford on time.

All in all our team did pretty well.  We increased our speed with every race, and the last rate we missed first place by 3 100th’s of second!! Kel told me that as their cadence they were screaming WE- WANT- BEER!  WE – WANT- BEER!  instead of 1-2-3!  1-2-3!!  Perhaps that was why they did so well that round?  Or perhaps that was why they missed crossing the finish line first as they were too busy salivating?  Who knows.  Much fun was had by all and ultimately that is what’s important.  Despite 4 hours of steady rain and they all hung in there!

Any of ya see Saturday Night Live last night?  That Tina Fey is just too damn funny.  I loved the skit she and Amy Pohlard did in the opener.  Tina had Sara Palin nailed!  So funny!  If you haven’t seen it, you can click HERE and watch it on the nbc site.  Whether you are a Palin supporter or not, Clinton supporter or not, it is a funny video and in good taste overall.  SNL does a pretty good job at poking fun at people-they spread it around pretty evenly.

It’s muggy and dreary again today.  Yesterday it was foggy and misting all day, and humid.  Ugh!  Today looks like a repeat of the same.  The sad thing??  The leaves are starting to fall off and some varieties are even starting to change colours.  Waaaaaa!!!!  The sign that summer is over.  It’s a double-edged sword mind you, as this of course means Fall is just around the corner.  My FAVOURITE time of the year!!  I just love fall….the colours….the crispness in the cool air….the sound of the dried leaves blowing on the pavement….the smell of dried leaves…aaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh.  I just love it!!

Hopefully today will be productive with a few batches of laundary getting done.  Yuck.  I hate doing laundry.  I actually like folding and ironing the clothes.  I just hate the first few steps of it all.  Sigh.

Happy Sunday to all!

3 comments

  1. I hadn’t seen the SNL skit but it was pretty well done. Four years ago who would have imagined that there would be not ONE but TWO key women involved in this year’s run for the White House??? Imho it’s about time!


  2. i have to say… the one bummer about living in south florida is missing the leaves change color. and, best of all, that crisp smell in the air… ahhhhh!!

    ps– hope you win the contest!


  3. I miss fall!



Leave a Reply

