h1

Scrooge does Santa

December 3, 2008

Well.  I’m not the most enthusiastic person when it comes to the holidays.  For reasons I won’t get into, I’ve wished the holidays would just pass me by for many years now.  I am a self-described Scrooge who is trying very hard to “get better” with the holidays especially now that I’m married.  When you’re single it’s a lot easier to make it as if it’s not a holiday.  It’s easier to pretend you’re all about the excitement because you don’t have to do it 24/7.  Sigh.   I AM trying though!

And to prove it, I have pictures.  Earlier this week we had our annual Christmas party for our dragon boating team.  Our team, along with the senior’s team that we developed a couple of years ago, partied it out at a local restaurant.  I was asked to don a Santa costume and show up at the party to spread cheer.  Gulp.  Ok.  I did it.  Here’s proof that Scrooge did Santa!

No, the tree isn't decorated yet...and OMG doesn't Santa look like a GIANT next to it??

No, the tree isn't decorated yet. Santa looks like a GIANT next to it!

He's competing with Santa!

He's competing with me!

Shippie's In-Laws!!

Shippie's Inlaws!!

Santa's job is done!  G'Night!

Santa's job is done! G'night!

It actually was quite a lot fun.  I mastered a fabulous Santa voice and got quite a few laughs.  To master the voice I just kept thinking of my brother’s normal voice and tried to emulate that.  Worked out well.  I do have a video of me being rather ‘naughty’ in some of my comments and interactions, but the sound quality is awful so I’m not bothering with a post of it.  Too bad though, as it was pretty funny.

So indeed I am making steps at being un-Scrooge like.  Little by little.  And yes, just for the record, that IS a strap-on I’m wearing!!  (I’m talking about the belly folks.  Get your mind out of the gutter!

With that, I leave you with a glimpse of what I woke up to several weeks ago.  Notice there are NO little kid footprints plastered all about.  It is so much prettier that way!  Of course this picture is no longer indicative of how things look now.  I’ll have to wait for another snow storm to have my pristine snow-scape back!

hpim1070

hpim1072

9 comments

  1. Ahhhh! You looked fantastic!


  2. Wow, they are beautiful!! Hey, can I use your picture?


  3. I cannot believe how delirious those icy views make me. (It’s more than 114*F here again, for about the tenth day in a row.) And, just quietly, you’re one Santa whose knee I wouldn’t mind sitting on! Love, R xxx


  4. Awwwwww……what a great Santa! Never woulda’ thought you had it in ya’. And what a beautiful view you have! It’s just perfect when the snow is fresh and all pristine.


  5. You make a beautiful Santa!! I love that snowscape you have from your home. It’s been in the 50s since we got home from our Thanksgiving trip. WHAT THE HECK?!? How are you supposed to enjoy winter when it’s not even COLD yet?!


  6. Good for you….you made a very nice SAnta and your eyes were twinkling too.

    Loved the winter pictures….they would make a gorgeous Christmas card….


  7. You make a great Santa! Go you, my favorite niece!


  8. You are THE cutest Santa EVER!! (hope Kel won’t be jealous that I said that!) If you hadn’t told me it was you, I’d have never known. And, gorgeous photos, too by the way.


  9. Strap-on…you slay me! Heh. I love your winter wonderland photos. I think I’m jealous. We rarely get snow down here.



Leave a Reply

